Monumental/ Argumentative

Today I discussed with my students argumentative speaking.  Their textbook makes the distinction that both persuasive and argumentative speaking seeks to change the thoughts of the listener and motivate to action.  The key difference is that persuasive speaking achieves this through motivational appeals and emotions while argumentative speaking uses logic and reasoning to sway the audience.

It really is a subtle difference, but a difference nonetheless.  There was a remarkable difference in the behavior of the class today as opposed to last time we met.  And I, for one, was overjoyed.  They were on task and cooperative for the duration of class.  And you’d better believe that I used every single minute of class time today!

In preparation for a possibly a trying day, I broke out (arguably) my most professional outfit: the business suit.

In a strict business setting, or interview, I would certainly wear the jacket to the set and keep it buttoned up.  I also would not wear the blue bauble necklace.  But, in a setting that allows a little more creativity, like teaching or writing, I may or may not wear the jacket and the necklace.

I have worn this suit to almost every interview that I have been on, and it has landed me a handful of jobs over the years.  In instances where I have had multiple interviews with one company I would do a variation of this outfit for the second round– a pink button-up shirt with black pants, or a white button-up with a black pencil skirt, etc.

Careful readers might note the dual title of this post. Let me explain.  Not only did I have a productive teaching day, I also had my first student come and see me during office hours!!  This made me extremely happy.  (I mean, it only took 14 weeks.)  After I helped the student with his homework due on Friday he told me about an assignment that he had to complete for another class.  He stated that he did very well because of what I had taught him in my class about presentations.

I could not have been more proud or excited.  I know it may seem insignificant, but these are the types of things that teachers live for.  And, let’s be honest, students are usually not forthcoming with their gratitude for making them do homework and teaching them things in the moment.  It isn’t usually until you’ve passed out of each other’s lives that they realize the impact that you had on them.

So, I would say that it was a very monumental day all around.

P.S. Visit my 100th post and leave a comment– there’s still a chance YOU could be the winner of a $10 Starbuck’s Gift Card.

 

Leave a comment