Critical Assessment (Black and Brown.)

Black dress: Old Navy. Black tissue turtleneck: Elder Beerman. Leopard scarf: Wal-Mart. Bronze earrings: Charlotte Russe.

Believe it or not, my students and I are in week 9 of the semester.  And it has offered some relief.  The first part of the semester is jam-packed with learning everything that they need to know about writing and delivering a speech.  It’s one of the more difficult things about planning the syllabus– I need them to be prepared to write and deliver a speech, but I also have to get a minimum of 4 in there.  But, it makes for a more relaxed second half of the semester.  Now that we have studied general purpose, central idea, audience analysis, attention-grabbers, patterns of organization, etc. it is just a matter of putting those concepts into use.

But, not just for their own classroom speeches.  A core objective of the course is to be able to critically evaluate real speeches.  And the famous speeches weren’t written in the same form that we write informative speeches for the classroom.  So, today I gave each of my students three elements that we have discussed thus far and then played two famous speeches.  I asked them to explain to the class how their element was or was not present.  This exercise worked well, but it would have worked a lot better if my students were more talkative.  Maybe I should bring candy to class.

urtleneck: Elder Beerman. Leopard scarf: Wal-Mart. Bronze earrings: Charlotte Russe. Black ring: self-made. Brown watch: Wal-Mart. Black belt: unknown. Black tights: KMart. Black shoes: Payless.

Turtleneck: Elder Beerman. Leopard scarf: Wal-Mart. Bronze earrings: Charlotte Russe. Black ring: self-made. Brown watch: Wal-Mart. Black belt: unknown

As before, I followed up a casual blend-into-the-audience-outfit with a more traditional and professional look.  Here, I layered a long-sleeved tissue turtleneck under a sleeveless black tank dress.  This dress is so fun because it has pockets and pleats.  But, I can’t ever bring myself to wear it without accentuating my waist.  Here, I have used a stretchy black belt.

Turtleneck: Elder Beerman. Leopard scarf: Wal-Mart. Bronze earrings: Charlotte Russe. Black ring: self-made. Brown watch: Wal-Mart. Black belt: unknown.

It is Fall, which means chilly and rainy most of the time, so I wore black tights and my black tie oxfords.  I thought about wearing a pair of my many black boots, but I decided against it.  In order to break up all that black, I added a tan and brown scarf with a leopard pattern.  (It seems now that I have started down the road of mixing black and tan, I can’t stop! See here and here.)  To more fully incorporate the brown I added my brown leather banded watch, bronze hoop earrings, and my black and gold self-made button ring.  Voila! Outfit complete.

One comment on “Critical Assessment (Black and Brown.)

  1. […] I tried a gray version of this outfit here.  If the grays had been closer in color, I think it might have worked better.  Or maybe they […]

Leave a Reply

