Audience Analysis–Always!

Flowered cardigan: Old Navy. Blue courderoys: Old Navy. Silver earrings: Wal-Mart. Blue bauble necklace: Elder Beerman. Silver bracelet watch: Fossil. 3 strand pearl bracelet: Elder Beerman.

Today, I worked with my students on more analysis and application.  First, I had them work in a group to complete an audience analysis on each of their respective topics for their demonstrative speech.  I added a twist this time around– their topic had to relate to their program of study.  I find that this small twist has a two-fold effect. 1. It eliminates any trivial speeches like How to make peanut butter and jelly and 2. It helps to integrate the general education course into their field.  This cuts down on the amount of complaints I hear about public speaking not relating to them.  Also, they have source material ready to go within their textbooks and potential interview candidates in their professors.

Flowered cardigan: Old Navy. Blue courderoys: Old Navy. Silver bracelet watch: Fossil. Brown Shoes: Mudd.

After they completed their audience analysis, I showed them two video’s of  demonstrative speeches.  The first one was about how to prevent sexual assault and the second one was on how to color Easter eggs.  This also showed that the first one was appropriate while the second one was silly and trivial.

The third exercise that they completed dealt with introductions.  The last round of outlines, many of them had incomplete introductions that were written in paragraph form as opposed to outline form.  I feel strongly that if they had all written them in outline form like they were supposed to they would have realized that they were missing some criteria.

In their introductions I ask that they include 4 criteria: attention grabber, reveal the topic, establish credibility and goodwill, and preview the main points.  To help them with this 3rd speech, I read aloud to them some incomplete introductions and asked them to identify which of the 4 items was missing.  This exercise works on two skills.  First, it helps them write a complete introduction and second it helps improve their listening skills since they have to figure out if all 4 pieces are in there based solely on hearing the introduction aloud.  This helps to train them to better critically assess other speeches that they might hear.

Today, I wore this flowered cardigan.  For some reason, it seemed like a great epiphany to me this morning that a cardigan could function as a shirt if I wore it buttoned up.  I don’t know why this has never occurred to me before this point, but usually in my mind a cardigan is solely a layering piece to be worn unbuttoned over another shirt.  Ahh, why is it sometimes that we get so locked in to these ideas?  I paired it with my blue corduroys and my dark brown oxfords.  The last time I wore these blue pants, I paired them with my tan boots.  I felt that gave them a little more of a casual feel–which was appropriate for going out for burgers with my BF.  But, I needed the dressier look of the oxfords for class.  I also elevated the look of this simple cardigan and pant combo with jewelry– my blue bauble necklace, silver earrings, silver bracelet watch, and 3 strand pearl bracelet.  At least I think that it elevated the look.  What do you think?

 

One comment on “Audience Analysis–Always!

  1. […] Audience Analysis – Always! (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

