Fall Browns

Today was a much needed day off from work, but that only meant that I had personal work to do.  Namely, a quick trip to the grocery store, clean up the house, make dinner, and some shopping that I wanted to do.  After rotating my closet this weekend, I noticed a few things that I needed/wanted.  (The two are so hard to tell apart!)

Brown turtleneck sweater: Old Navy. Gold scarf: unknown. Brown reversible belt: Wal-Mart. Khaki skinnies: JC Penney. Brown boot socks: Target. Brown boots: Old Navy.

It was unseasonably warm and sunny, so I took these pictures outside of out apartment building.  I wanted to wear something that was casual but put-together, warm enough to go sans jacket, but still weather appropriate.  This is what I came up with.  These skinnies are sooooo comfortable!  I have them in this khaki color and black and not only do they fit well, but they are a soft-broken in material.  These boots are also comfortable because they are flat.  Plus, I waterproofed them last week and am super excited to wear them a ton this Fall.  Lastly, this ribbed turtleneck sweater is thin, so it makes a great transition/ layering piece.  I actually ended up being a little too warm in this outfit, so when I got home from shopping I swapped it with a billowy teal tunic.

As I was getting dressed, I couldn’t help but wish that I had a long gold necklace to pull this whole outfit together.  U must admit, I used to only like silver toned jewelry.  But, now I am starting to love the look of gold!  Sadly, my earlier disdain of gold means that I don’t have any gold toned pieces.  Currently, I have one pair of gold earrings, a gold toned bracelet, a gold-toned watch, and one gold chain necklace.  Not too many options for accessorizing.  But, when you don’t have something, it forces you to be creative.  That’s when I came up with the idea for using this gold scarf adorned with gold paillettes to function as a necklace of sorts.  I’ll admit, I was super proud of myself.

Brown turtleneck sweater: Old Navy. Gold scarf: unknown. Brown reversible belt: Wal-Mart. Khaki skinnies: JC Penney. Brown boot socks: Target. Brown boots: Old Navy.

Let’s get back to The List.  Here is what made it on to The List:

  • navy blue cardigan (for times when my navy blue blazer is too structured)
  • camel colored cardigan (for times when gray, black, or brown just won’t do)
  • black blazer (surprisingly, I don’t have one!)
  • long-sleeved button ups: black, purple, navy, printed
  • long-sleeved v-neck t-shirts: black, brown, white, colored/printed
  • dressy khaki pants

Now, the beauty of this list is that it is not necessary for these items to be purchased new.  Except for the long-sleeved t-shirts.  I mean, those are so cheaply made that I think it would best to buy new.  And that’s where I started– the Goodwill.  But, I didn’t find any of the list items there.  I did find some things that I couldn’t pass up.  (Look for those in a separate post.)

 

  • Errands (teachinstyle.wordpress.com)
Leave a Reply

