Plagiarism

I teach my students that plagiarism is one of the worst sins you can commit in academic life.  And while I certainly understand that sometimes plagiarism is accidental, it is always avoidable.  Having said that, I must give credit for this outfit inspiration to Jessica Quirk of What I Wore.  When I saw this post, I knew that I had all the elements to recreate the look myself.

Blue and white ruffled henley: Old Navy. Blue blazer: (thrifted.) Khaki skirt: (thrifted.) Nude fishnets: Target. Brown boot socks: Target. Brown boots: Old Navy. Bronze hoop earrings: Charlotte Russe. Gold and red necklace: Gift from mother-in-law. Gold bracelet: Jewelry superstore. Brown watch: Wal-Mart.

I really liked the outfit, but since I was just wearing it to run errands I decided that the blazer was too formal.  I swapped it out with a navy cardigan for several reasons.

  1. It is less structured and more appropriate for the occasion
  2. It eased my conscious about completely stealing this outfit from another blogger
  3. The cardigan is a new addition to my wardrobe and needs to start earning its place

Blue and white ruffled henley: Old Navy. Blue cardigan: Old Navy. Khaki skirt: (thrifted.) Bronze hoop earrings: Charlotte Russe. Gold and red necklace: Gift from mother-in-law. Gold bracelet: Jewelry superstore. Brown watch: Wal-Mart.

I also tried a few other tweaks to make the outfit feel more like mine.  First, I toyed with the idea of wearing this skirt backwards.  Based on the tag and zipper placement, I assume that the kick pleat belongs in the front, but I have also seen many skirts with one in the back.

Blue and white ruffled henley: Old Navy. Khaki skirt: (thrifted.) Nude fishnets: Target. Brown boot socks: Target. Brown boots: Old Navy. Bronze hoop earrings: Charlotte Russe. Gold and red necklace: Gift from mother-in-law. Gold bracelet: Jewelry superstore. Brown watch: Wal-Mart.

Ultimately, though I decided to wear it the way that it was intended.  I also toyed with different earrings.  For some reason, I can’t help but accent blue and white with red.  But, I don’t want to look kitschy.  So, I went with small bits of red to minimize looking like an American flag.


In the end, I chose the bronze hoop earrings. This outfit was both comfortable and put-together for a dinner date with my boyfriend followed by grocery shopping– thanks Jessica Quirk!

Leave a Reply

