I Have a Dream

Black and tan ruffled blouse: Ann Taylor LOFT (thrifted.) Black v-neck layering tee: Old Navy. Button ring: self-made. Brown oversized watch: Wal-Mart: Black skirt: Old Navy.

I finally got to wear this outfit to class on Monday.  Sadly, it didn’t live up to my expectations.  While there isn’t anything wrong with it per se I just didn’t feel as great about it as I did when I envisioned it in my head.  I tried a lot of different things to make it pop the way that I wanted it too, but it just never did.  I tried accenting my waist with two different red belts, but I thought that it was a little too much with the ruffled neckline.  I also tried a newly purchased long gold necklace, but vetoed that, too.  Sometimes, I have difficulty with accessorizing.  I tried several different pairs of shoes: black and gray, black t-strap, and red slingbacks.  I chose these black mary janes solely because I haven’t worn them on the blog.

The other thing that didn’t live up to my expectations was my class.  I had hoped that we would have an interesting and witty debate about what made MLK’s “I Have a Dream” speech so great, but we didn’t.  I get the sense that they are just looking for me to tell them all the answers rather than thinking about things for themselves.  It makes me quite frustrated and defeated some days.  How do all you teachers out there increase discussion in your classes?  I certainly could use a dose of motivation for Wednesday’s class.

Black and tan ruffled blouse: Ann Taylor LOFT (thrifted.) Black v-neck layering tee: Old Navy. Button ring: self-made. Brown oversized watch: Wal-Mart: Black skirt: Old Navy. Black mary janes: Payless

Leave a Reply

