Shopping! Shopping! Shopping!

As promised last week, I will share with you my shopping finds.  I rotated my closet and packed away most of my tank tops, short sleeved shirts, shorts, and other warm-weather wear.  I replaced them with long-sleeved layering tee’s, turtlenecks, sweaters, and long pants.  Sadly, it needed to be done since we are mid-way into Fall here in the midwest.

After rotating my closet, I felt that I needed to add a few pieces.  So, I made a wish list:

  • navy blue cardigan (for times when my navy blue blazer is too structured)
  • camel colored cardigan (for times when gray, black, or brown just won’t do)
  • black blazer (surprisingly, I don’t have one!)
  • long-sleeved button ups: black, purple, navy, printed
  • long-sleeved v-neck t-shirts: black, brown, white, colored/printed
  • dressy khaki pants

Luckily, it is not imperative that all these items be purchased new.  Many of them are classic items that could potentially be thrifted.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, I didn’t find any of the items from The List there.  But, I did find some things there.


I have been looking for brown round toe pumps for a very long time!  So, when I saw these ones for $5 it was hard to pass them by.  So, I didn’t.  I took them home with me.   The pointy-toed pumps are something of an anomaly.  Most fashion people rave about pointed toed shoes because of the long leg line that it helps to create.  But, I have never owned a pair of pointed-toe shoes.  Mostly because when I look down at my feet I think that they look very strange.  But, I have been growing as a person and starting to like things that I have never liked before.  Like pointy-toed shoes, v-necks, and several new food items.  The brown purse was an item that I didn’t know that I wanted, but the purses were right next to the shoe section, so it was hard to pass it up.  Plus, it was only $2.50.

After the goodwill, I went to JC Penney.  I am a big fan of their career wear line, Worthington.  I have had lots of luck with their button-up dress shirts and dress pants.  And, I found several items there.  These included a black and gold sparkly dress from MNG by Mango that I had in mind for my BF’s company Christmas party, a black lace skirt, dressy khaki pants, a long-sleeved navy button-up and a purple tie-neck top.  The gold and black dress was an impulse buy and the black lace skirt was influenced by this magazine article on How to Wake Up Your Work Wardrobe.  Sadly, this is also the reason that they ended up being returned.  The dress was o.k., but I didn’t love it and I was already feeling a little uneasy about the price.  And the black lace skirt went back because I have several black skirts and at this point I needed to cut back a little on my spending.


The last stop on my shopping trip was Old Navy. If you follow my blog, you know that I have a lot of clothes from Old Navy. The reason is because I used to work there and I acquired them over the course of 3 years. So, I knew that it was the go-to destination for the basic long-sleeved layering tee’s and cardigans. Plus, I had a coupon.


Here is the updated List:

  • navy blue cardigan
  • camel colored cardigan
  • black blazer
  • long-sleeved button ups: black, purple, navy, printed
  • long-sleeved v-neck t-shirts: black, brown, white, colored/printed
  • dressy khaki pants

Look for these new items to be quickly integrated into my outfits. I always love getting new clothes and can hardly wait to wear them!

One comment on “Shopping! Shopping! Shopping!

  1. […] Shopping! Shopping! Shopping! (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

