Outfit Pre-Planning

Last week, I decided to do a little outfit pre-planning.  I got inspired from Pinterest and decided to play dress-up.  First, I tried this combination with a red plaid button down shirt and black pin-striped pants.

Red plaid button-down: Old Navy. Black vest: unknown. Black pin-striped pants: Old Navy. Black pumps: Fioni for Payless

This is also the outfit that I wore to class on Wednesday.  As I mentioned in a previous post, I did not like the outfit I wore on Monday.  In fact, as I am writing this, I can’t even remember what I wore.  I do remember wearing my tweed zip-up blazer and pink button down but I don’t remember what pants or shoes I wore.  Long-story short, you’re not missing out on anything.

I then switched the pants for a skirt to see how I liked that look.  Here is the result:

Red plaid button-down: Old Navy. Black vest: unknown. Black pin-striped skirt: JC Penney (two-piece set.). Black pumps: Fioni for Payless

I liked the outfit, but it is getting colder so it is harder and harder to wear skirts.  (I get cold easily.)  I liked the outfit o.k., but I didn’t love it.  So, I tried some more combination’s.  Like this one:

Blue button-down: Worthington for JC Penney. Black vest: unknown. Black pin-striped skirt: JC Penney (two-piece set). Black pumps: Fioni for Payless

In reality, I didn’t love this one, either.  I feel that sometimes it can be very difficult to pull off a black vest without looking like a member of the wait staff.  So, when I tried this combination on that is sort of how I felt.  But, now that I see it in photographs, I think that it is a better combination than the red plaid shirt.  Do you ever do that?  Think that something looks really bad (or really good) but then see photographic evidence of the opposite?!

I also tried my new navy blazer with the black pinstriped skirt.  On some style blog that I have read recently the author posed the question, Would you pair navy with black?  And, I think that I would.  But maybe not with this exact outfit:

Navy button-down: Worthington for JC Penney. Black belt: unknown. Black pin-striped skirt: JC Penney (two-pieced set). Black pumps: Fioni for Payless

Or maybe I will, who knows?  You’ll have to stay tuned.

2 comments on “Outfit Pre-Planning

  1. […] Outfit Pre-Planning (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Outfit Pre-Planning (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

