Thanksgiving 2

Lately, I have been in one of those moods where nothing that I put on looks right.  The sad thing is that I have tons of clothes, but every once in awhile I just can’t seem to find the right outfit.  This could also have something to do with my BF who likes to poke fun at some of my outfits.  He isn’t too keen on things like belting outside of a cardigan and other stylistic details that I see other bloggers do and try to mimic.

Perhaps I have been eating too much Thanksgiving, but yesterday I wanted something that was a little dressy, but comfortable and unfussy.  I tried on one top, but it didn’t skim in the places that I wanted it too.  I tried on another outfit, but it was too warm.  I tried on another and it felt too contrived.

I tried on another and another and another.

Some of them I didn’t like, some of them my BF didn’t like.  (I pulled out a green trapezoid top to wear with skinny jeans and he remarked that it looked like a maternity top.  So not what I was going for.)  Ultimately, I wound up with something that both looked good and made me feel good.

Do you have a Go-To outfit when nothing seems to be working?  Tomorrow, I will be back to the classroom, so the options will be limited to professional clothing.  But, limited options isn’t always a bad thing.  Sometimes it helps me from feeling overwhelmed and lost by giving me some sense of structure or “rules” to adhere to.

Black cardigan: Target. Black and Gray blouse: Old Navy. Skinny jeans: Mossimo for Target. Gray boots: Old Navy. Pearl multi-strand bracelet: Elder Beerman. Button-ring: self-made. Silver watch: JC Penney.

Black cardigan: Target. Black and Gray blouse: Old Navy. Skinny jeans: Mossimo for Target. Gray boots: Old Navy. Pearl multi-strand bracelet: Elder Beerman. Button-ring: self-made. Silver watch: JC Penney.

4 comments on “Thanksgiving 2

  1. mmgarnes says:

    Your outfit is right up my alley! I love wearing blouses with sweaters over them, to frame the look. I’ll pair those with bootcut jeans or a nice black trouser. I’m a stay at home, so I ditched leggings for more mom appropriate pants once stroller walks became a regular thing.

    What do you like to wear for professional wear? When I worked full time, I loved cords and embellished blouses.

    • To see some of my more professional wear, see my “teaching outfits” posts. Although, we don’t have strict dress code (I can wear jeans if I want) I usually err more on the side of caution than not. After all, I need the students to respect me as their teacher and sometimes that can be difficult because I am young. I find that dressing the part helps tremendously.

      • mmgarnes says:

        I realized just after posting that your whole blog is about style and teaching (whoops! too much turkey when reading!) My dad teaches high school, and loves talking about how he motivates his kids to learn. Respect is a big part of his classroom focus too 🙂

  2. mattymays says:

    hi teachinstyle.wordpress.com-ers xmas greetings to you all – matty mays

Leave a Reply

