Back in the Saddle

Today was business as usual–class in the morning, where we reviewed Monroe’s Motivated Sequence before moving on to discussing Argumentation.  This is the first textbook that I have used that separated persuasive speaking and argumentation.  The other two textbooks that I have used lumped it all together.  I’m not sure that I like separating it out– the distinction isn’t clear cut, it is very gray and I think that causes some difficulties for my students.

I had planned on wearing either a white button down with my khaki skirt and brown accessories, or one of my handful of shift dresses.  However, when I tried the first outfit on this morning it didn’t work the way that I wanted it to.  (This seems to be a trend as of late.)  I have been wanting to try my maxi dress out in different ways, and oddly enough today ended up being that day.  I wish that I was the type of person who could pick an outfit out and just go with it, but I am not.  Sometimes the way I think something will look in my head isn’t the way that it translates.

I also could have titled this post “how many ways can I wear this cardigan in the span of a week?”  Luckily, not many of my social circles intersect–except for you guys.

Here is how I combined my purple maxi dress with the workhorse flowered cardigan:

Purple Maxi-Dress: gift from mom. Flowered cardigan: Old Navy. Brown belt: (thrifted.) Brown round toe pumps: (thrifted.) Brown watch: Wal-Mart.

 

Because the maxi-dress is made of cotton and is somewhat casual, I gave it more weight and structure by adding the cardigan and belt and wearing it with pumps as opposed to a different type of shoe.  I was very careful to minimize any hippie-ish vibe by doing so.

Purple Maxi-Dress: gift from mom. Flowered cardigan: Old Navy. Brown belt: (thrifted.) Brown round toe pumps: (thrifted.) Brown watch: Wal-Mart.

 

Are there any specific items of clothing that you latch on to and wear repeatedly in a short span of time?

 

One comment on “Back in the Saddle

  1. Thanks for putting up the link to my blog on your website! LOVE the outfit you chose! 🙂

Leave a Reply

