Spring Semester 2012–GO!

Today was my first day of Spring Semester 2012.  I am teaching 2 sections of Effective Speaking.  One on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11-12:15 and the other on Fridays from 11-1:50.  I will admit, that I get really excited for the first day of class and have trouble sleeping.  To me, it represents a blank slate and a world of possibilities.  I always have high hopes for the semester in the first few weeks.

Today, I needed an outfit that would convey authority and personality.  This outfit is tried and true, see here.  That can be viewed as both a positive and a negative.  This outfit is very safe– there is minimal accessorizing going on.  But, I need to give them something safe in order to start to get to know me.  As the semester goes on, I will take more liberties with my outfits.  But, dressing for the occasion is an important concept.

Black and white dress: Target. Purple cardigan: Gift from mother-in-law. Black skinny belt: Unknown. Brown watch: Wal-Mart. Purple cluster earrings: Wal-Mart. Black pointy-toed pumps: Shoe Carnival.

It was quite warm out today for a Winter day in the NE.  I heard it got up to about 50 degrees or so.  None-the-less, it was rainy and windy this morning.  Here I am bundled up and ready to tromp through puddles on my way to campus!

Black coat: Target. Purple scarf: Wal-Mart. Brown purse: (thrifted.) Black Messenger bag: New York. Black rain boots: Old Navy. Sunglasses: Target.

 

I can’t wait for Thursday– I already have a few outfits in mind!  Stop by to see what I wear the next time I teach and my second “first day” of the Spring Semester 2012.

5 comments on “Spring Semester 2012–GO!

  1. […] Spring Semester 2012 – GO! (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) […]

  2. juliewearswellingtons says:

    You did the right wearing your Rubber Boots, they save your Tights getting splashed and keep your feet dry and you look quite dishy.
    Kisses
    Julie

  3. […] Spring Semester 2012 – GO! (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in black, gold, teaching, Teaching Outfits and tagged Public speaking, style, teaching. […]

  4. […] Spring Semester 2012 – GO! (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in black, gray, Teaching Outfits and tagged accessories, Closet, style, teaching, visual aids, Winter. […]

  5. […] is the same shade of purple, but I don’t think that would necessarily stop me from wearing this purple cardigan with the […]

Leave a Reply

