Listening-Lecture 2

 

Today, I briefly reviewed chapter 1 which we discussed last class before jumping in to the lecture on listening.  I had each student fill out an evaluation sheet on their listening skills.  This inventory allows students to see how good of a listener they are and where they have need for improvement.  They almost always score low and that gives me a great segue into the importance of listening.  Are you listening to me?!  Just checking.

I was impressed by this groups liveliness during lecture– I have high hopes for this semester and I hope that they continue to participate at this level during class discussions.

Since we are still in the first week of class, I selected another “professional and safe” outfit.  My outfit was also dictated in a large part by the weather– it is starting to feel like winter here in the northeast.  That means snow, wind, and cold.  That pretty much meant that pants were a must.  And layers.

With that in mind, I created a suit from these two Ann Taylor pieces that I thrifted on two separate occasions!  How lucky am I?  I hope that someone keeps donating their Ann Taylor items to my local thrift store because I can provide a good home for them.  These two items don’t exactly match, so I used a deep jewel tone to separate the two colors.

Gray Ann Taylor Blazer: (thrifted.) Teal ruched sleeve sweater: gift frim sister-in-law. Gray Ann Taylor pants: (thrifted.) Black and gray shoes: Payless.

Here is another view without the blazer on.

Gray Ann Taylor Blazer: (thrifted.) Teal ruched sleeve sweater: gift frim sister-in-law. Gray Ann Taylor pants: (thrifted.) Black and gray shoes: Payless.

I took these pictures before I added the final touches: purple cluster earrings, a peacock pin, and a pendant necklace.  I took a picture of the complete outfit after class, but you can see that the weather really took a toll on my hair!

Gray Ann Taylor Blazer: (thrifted.) Teal ruched sleeve sweater: gift frim sister-in-law. Peacock pin: gift from sister-in-law. Pendant necklace: Charlotte Russe. Purple cluster earrings: Wal-Mart.

Tomorrow, I teach the students in my other section of Effective Speaking.  It is a Friday only class so this will be the first meeting for them.  I also teach about twice as long since we only meet once a week.  Please visit my blog again to see what I wear to that class and the other finds on my recent thrifting trip.

One comment on “Listening-Lecture 2

  1. […] have already worn the gray Ann Taylor blazer, here! I do have a few rules when I am shopping, though. I usually have some items in mind that I am […]

Leave a Reply

