Intro to Effective Speaking and Listening- Encore Presentation

On Friday’s, I teach a second section of Effective Speaking.  Because the class only meets once a week, I essentially wind up giving an encore presentation of the two lectures that I delivered to the T/TR class throughout the week.  Hence, today was my second “first day” of the semester.

It’s intriguing how different my classes are.  I got a totally different vibe and envision of the future with the two sections of the class.  This can sometimes make creating a syllabus difficult.  Now that I have met my students and gotten a chance to interact with them, I can immediately tell that some things on the syllabus are going to need to be changed.  I think that my Friday students will have a more difficult time with the class because we only meet once a week.  Already, I had a handful of students who informed me that they had this appointment or that appointment scheduled during class time.  I’m not sure if students realize how infuriating that can be to an instructor.  I always try to stress to them that there are consequences for their actions.  Sometimes missing class is unavoidable, but that means that they sacrifice points for any in-class assignments, quizzes, and participation.  Often they understand this, but every once in awhile they will call “foul” and complain that “it’s not fair.”

For this second first day, I selected an outfit that I think of as “teacherly.”  It is not the original outfit I had planned, but the 1-3 inches of snowfall we received forced me to re-evaluate.  I switched out the purple tie neck blouse for a gray turtleneck, added a purple scarf and tights to complete the look.

Gray turtleneck: Old Navy. Gray and black shift dress: Target. Purple scarf: Wal-Mart. Purple and silver bracelet: gift from dad. Black tights: unknown. Gray and black shoes: Payless

Gray turtleneck: Old Navy. Gray and black shift dress: Target. Purple scarf: Wal-Mart.

The first week of class is over and I have to admit, I am relieved. I’m kind of tired of hearing myself talk. I am looking forward to a day off tomorrow and celebrating my Grandma’s 80th birthday. What am I going to where?

Leave a Reply

