Organizing Speeches and Closets

On Tuesday, my students finished the outlining exercise that they had started on last Thursday with the Writing Center guest.  This was a great introduction to organizational patterns and outlining. It was a great hands on activity that I will repeat in the future.

I also had the opportunity to talk with some of my full-time co-workers about the struggles that I have been having with my Friday class.  They were able to give me some good advice and some perspective on the issue and point me in the direction of some great reading material regarding teaching.

I have to tell you, when I got dressed yesterday I was looking in the mirror and I thought that my dressed seemed a tad short.  But, I put my arms to my sides and lo and behold it was plenty long enough.  I stared at my reflection, puzzled as to why I felt the dress was short.  And then it hit me: knees.  Most all of my other dresses/skirts are slightly longer and cover my knees.  I had to laugh– I was feeling scandalous because I was showing my knees!

Blue button up: JC Penney. Blue belt: (thrifted.) Black dress: Old Navy. Blue bauble necklace: Elder Beerman. Black pumps: Payless.

I thought that it looked nice outside when I was getting ready taking my pictures.  It wasn’t raining or snowing.  But, then I got my tripod all set up and stepped onto my balcony to take my pictures and what to my wondering eyes did appear?
Snow flurries.
So, I picked up my tripod, shooed my cat in the door, and took pictures in my entry way instead.

Discerning readers might notice that in the outside shot my legs look different.  Shiny, even.  Well, you would be right!  I have been trying to figure out which pair of nylons is the culprit and I finally did.  I know that Princess Kate favors shiny hosiery, but she is married to a Prince– I think that means that you get to do and wear whatever you want!  Those of us commoners must obey fashion’s rules and trends.  Besides, disco ball legs is not the look I was going for.  So, I promptly changed my leg wear. And, I want to point out for those of you who didn’t notice, I wore this necklace today specifically because of Mardi Gras. Sort of a grown-up version of plastic bead necklaces.

I am off today, and I have a handful of errands to run, but I am also thinking about organizing my closet.  I’m reticent to start because I think that it may be a bigger project than I want to take on.  But, I have been wanting to re-arrange my closet for a few weeks to help spark inspiration and remind me of those gems that get pushed to the back of the closet and forgotten.  Plus, I do a lot of clothes shopping, and I feel that it is only fair that for the amount of stuff I bring in to the closet, I also remove items from the closet.  That, and my BF likes to watch Hoarders and it gives me the eebie-geebies and makes me want to throw things away.  Lots of things.

How often do you organize your closet? Do you store off-season clothing somewhere else? Do you organize your closet by item type– shirt, sweater, pants, by function– work clothes, casual clothes, etc., or by some other organizational pattern?

One comment on “Organizing Speeches and Closets

  1. […] under blazers or sweaters but not as a stand alone piece?  Right, there is no point.  Remember a few posts ago when I mentioned the possibility of cleaning out my closet?  While I still don’t have time […]

Leave a Reply

