Matchy-Matchy

I am still trying to break the stigma of my Friday class– both with what I wear and how I teach.  I made sure to put in some extra preparation time for this week’s material, created an outline for my notes, and an outline with key words missing to hand out to the students to help them take notes.

I was all excited to wear my $2 pants today, even though it meant pairing them with a top that I just wore last week.  But, even the best laid plans can go awry.  The pants were marked waaaaaay down.  I tried on one size, but they were a little snug for a professional pant.  (They would have worked for casual wear, though.)  I went back to the clearance rack and found another pair two sizes up.  Of course I didn’t feel like going back to the dressing room, so I took the $2 gamble.  Well, I lost.  The pants are too loose and I didn’t noticed that they don’t have belt loops, so I can’t belt them and make them work.  Sadly, I think that tomorrow I will be returning the $2 pants.  (But, that doesn’t exclude the possibility that the other location won’t have the size that I need.)

In the spur of the moment, I had to come up with another outfit.  While this outfit won’t be winning any style awards, it was an outfit that I felt very good in.  Plus, I was pretty proud of myself for the near match of the shirt with my current nail color and the similar shade of the lipstick that I chose.  Sometimes matchy-matchy is good.

Hot pink button up: JC Penney. Astrology necklace: Target. Earrings: Wal-Mart. Black dress pants: JC Penney. Black belt: Target. Black pointy-toed shoes: Shoe Carnival. Silver watch: Fossil.

Not only did I feel good in my outfit today, I felt good about my class. I had 7 of 9 students present. I’m not sure what caused the dramatic shift, but it was nice to have nearly a full head count. I almost felt claustrophobic. (Not really.)  Feeling good in my clothing most certainly helped me to successfully deliver my lecture on delivery– that and the extra time I spent prepping helped me appear confident and comfortable.
Can I be so lucky as to have that many students next Friday during my evaluation? I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

2 comments on “Matchy-Matchy

  1. […] I’ve ever worn this exact outfit before, either.  I know that I have paired this shirt with black dress pants and black pointy toed heels, but that’s as close as I’ve come.  (Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.) […]

  2. […] I’ve ever worn this exact outfit before, either.  I know that I have paired this shirt with black dress pants and black pointy toed heels, but that’s as close as I’ve come.  (Feel free to correct me if I’m […]

Leave a Reply

