Round 2, Day 2

Yesterday was the second day of round 2 speeches for my t/tr class.  At the beginning of class, I reminded them to really focus on their attention-grabbers and starting their speech off on the right foot.  This reminder seemed to help many of them.

I don’t know if I would say that there is an advantage to going the second day rather than the first, I think that certain students are more likely to prepare and be ready than other students.  I think that maybe one or two of them feel like they’ve gotten a “second” chance when they realize that they are going to present the second day, but I don’t think that it is statistically significant.  I don’t think that very many students take the extra day to prepare or practice more for their speech.  But, I could be really wrong.

I dressed a little more casual than normal, but not too casual because after class I met with my mentor to discuss my teaching observation/evaluation.  I went with a short-sleeved button up shirt and gray dress pants with black shoes.  On film, it is very hard to see the stripes in the shirt– they are black, gray, and red.  But, in the photographs it reads as a dark shade of gray.  I promise, in actuality, that the gray stripes in the shirt are similar in color to the gray pants.

I don’t wear this shirt that often, and I don’t think that it will survive the next round of closet clean-out.  There is nothing wrong with it, it is just one of those items that feels like a fall or winter color palette with short sleeves.  I’ve had it for so long, I don’t even remember where I got it.  The same goes with the earrings and the black shoes.  They are both items that I have had for what seems like ever!  I meant to add my burgundy velvet blazer to the outfit for a bit of warmth, but I forgot.

My evaluation went well. My mentor gave me a lot of compliments and some really good strategies for improving my weaknesses. The best thing is that I already knew my weaknesses– she didn’t identify anything that I felt was a strength as a weakness.  Even though I thought it went well, it was hard to wait a week for my feedback.  I am glad that I got my feedback and I don’t have to stress out and worry about it any more!

Tomorrow my class is taking their midterm exam and then I am officially on Spring Break. I don’t know who is more excited, me or my students.

Leave a Reply

