“This is How You Do It”: Demonstration Speeches

On Tuesday, my students delivered their last informative speech– the speech of demonstration.  As I mentioned previously, this time the assignment had a twist.  In order to force them to do a more thorough job of audience analysis and adaptation the assignment specified that the topic had to relate to their program of study in some way.

I’ve done this same twist before and it always yields some very interesting speeches.  The students get to be “experts” because they are talking about something in their own wheelhouse.  They are becoming better public speakers with each round of speeches.  I reminded them to start with their attention-grabber, like I always do, but this time 90% of them actually did!  There was a big boost in the overall number of A’s and B’s this round, too.

I know, whether they will admit it or not, that they are learning something in my class.  And that makes me extremely proud.

Of course I wanted to wear some of my new clothes, but the weather just didn’t cooperate.  It snowed on Tuesday.  And, since most of the items that I purchased were Spring/ Summer geared, I had to think fast.  Luckily, the colder temperatures gave me a chance to wear my new pink cordueroy blazer.  But, I changed up the outfit from the original one that I posted.  You know me, I can’t leave well enough alone.

I changed the cream colored cami for a crisp white button down, the gray pants for denim colored trousers, and the open toed sandals with laced-up oxfords. It’s fascinating to me how these few swaps can really change the whole feel of an outfit.

 

What do you think?  Do you ever plan an outfit and then have to change it up at the last minute because one thing or another?

Leave a Reply

