Peach Sorbet

Friday was not the day that I expected to have.  My students didn’t have class the week prior for Good Friday, so they had to turn in their outlines to me some way so that I could return them.  On Thursday night I received an e-mail from one of my students asking if they were presenting their speech on Friday.

I know it shouldn’t, but little things like that get under my skin.  First, it tells me that the student either doesn’t have their syllabus, or doesn’t look at it.  Second, it indicates to me that the student does not do the amount of prep work for a speech that I feel is necessary.  Third, I’m wondering how the student thought that it was possible to even practice a speech without having received back their outline.  A little inquiry like that just sets off so many red flags for me.

Ideally, I had planned for them to do the same group exercise/presentation as my other class, but I didn’t feel like it would really help them.  Instead, I passed back their graded outlines and had them split off in to partners to begin revising them.  As they were working on that, I went around and helped guide everyone along.  Then, we spent the last 20 minutes having everyone go up to the front of the room and practice delivering their newly revised introductions.

I feel like it helped them, but I guess I won’t really know until next week when they deliver their speeches.  The only snag in the plan was that 3 students who came to class did not turn in their outlines, therefore they didn’t have anything to work on during the class time.  This resulted in those 3 students leaving.  I would have liked a different outcome for that situation,  but I guess you have to take the good with the bad.

I had tried wearing this outfit on both Tuesday and Thursday, but it just didn’t happen.  I forget why I vetoed it on Tuesday, but on Thursday it was because I didn’t have the right undergarments for the pants.   The pants are great, but they are not lined, and I could see that as being the reason why someone sent them off to the thrift store.

This outfit worked out nicely, and I am glad that I wore it on Friday.  After class I had to attend a division meeting at school.  It is the first one that I have been to and it was really great.  First, it helped me to gain a sense of belonging within my department, division, college, etc.  Second, it was a good opportunity to see what types of outfits the other teachers in my department wear.  And lastly, I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but currently I am not teaching in the Fall.  I am still relatively new and part-time, so it takes some time for the list to make its way around to me.  Sadly, all of the classes were taken before it reached me.  I am keeping my fingers crossed that enrollment will go up and more sections will be added between now and August, but only time will tell.  (I also felt like it was really important for my department chair to see me attending these meetings.)

What do you think? Is it important to attend procedural meetings and other types of events in your field?

2 comments on “Peach Sorbet

  1. […] Peach Sorbet (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] trousers and salmon-y cardigan.  (For other ways that I’ve worn these trousers see here and here.)  I went with brown shoes and silver-toned jewelry instead of gold.  I also added my wooden […]

Leave a Reply

