Date Night: Dinner, Parents, Bar

Every Thursday night my BF and I have “date night.”  For us, it’s the one night that we know we will get to see each other.  Although he works a typical 9-5 job, my hours have always been all over the place.  That’s the one caveat about working in restaurants and retail.  (Even my teaching days and times can be a little crazy, sometimes.)

So, we have date night.  Sometimes date night means grocery shopping and laundry, other times it means a night out on the town, sometimes it’s dinner and a movie, and sometimes we just sit on the couch in lounge wear and do nothing together.  Last night, date night took the form of dinner at a new Bone Fish Grill location, a quick visit to my parents, and a cocktail at a local bar.

Since we were going to be doing a few different things, I wanted to look a little dressed up, but still be casual.  It was very warm outside, but I knew that we were going to be spending most of the evening inside in air conditioning.  For me, this meant jeans and a t-shirt.  I paired my dark wash skinny jeans with a black short-sleeved shirt with a keyhole accent.  Just to give this look a little bump in the personality and style department, I added my red patent slingback wedges and red tear drop earrings.  This look achieved everything that I wanted it to.

Black blouse: Old Navy. Dark wash skinny jeans: Target. Red wedges: Old Navy. Red earrings: unknown. Silver watch: Fossil.

What do you think?  Do you have a specific “formula” that you stick to when getting dressed for certain events?  Or do you just put on whatever appeals to you at the time?

 

 

Leave a Reply

