Memorial Day Par-Tay!

Yesterday, my BF and I went to a Memorial Day picnic at my aunt and uncle’s.  It was mostly our family, but some of their work friends, too.

I’ve been to a million get togethers there so I knew exactly what the location and activities would include.  I wanted something that was weather appropriate and occasion appropriate.

I selected three different outfits and left the final choice up to my BF.  The first outfit consisted of a white summer dress, red short-sleeved cardigan, and my red patent wedges.  The second outfit was my ruffled tank top with navy, coral, and tan paired with a navy silk midi skirt, and bronze sandals.  The third outfit was a sleeveless button up shirt–white with navy polka dots, dark wash denim shorts, a red sparkly belt and red flip flops.

My BF walked me through his decision process.  “Do you really want to wear a white dress to your family’s picnic?”  He had a point– we’re not known for being pristine and proper having garden parties with tea and finger sandwiches.  To the second outfit he didn’t have much commentary.  The third outfit he said, “That looks like a picnic outfit.” So, that is the one that I went with.  I think it was the best choice, but hindsight is always 20/20!

Sleeveless shirt: (thrifted.) Dark wash denim shorts: Wal-Mart. Red earrings: unknown. Red bracelet: gift from mom. Silver watch: Fossil. Red flip flops: Old Navy.


What do you think? How do you wear red, white, and blue in a grown up way? Do you? Or do you think it’s too childish or kitschy?

One comment on “Memorial Day Par-Tay!

  1. Love the polka dots! Hope you had a great Memorial Day!

Leave a Reply

