Repeats

Although I have known the order of the days of the week for a very long time, Wednesday managed to sneak up on me something fierce!  Mostly it was due to working an extra shift at my other job to help a co-worker out.  In hindsight I should have said No because it threw my entire schedule out of whack.  But, you know what they say about hindsight!

On Tuesday I spent a good portion of the day prepping my lecture for class, creating a quiz, setting up grade books, and doing this and that.  Then, I had to go to work at my other job.  Due to unforseen events, I was there later than anticipated.  Luckily, sometime last week I played in my closet and created some school outfits.   This helps out immensely in a frantic and time crunched morning.  (It also helps out because my BF and I are now getting ready simultaneoulsy.)

I have to confess that I didn’t wear the outfit as initially planned.  I wanted to add a coral-ish colored short sleeved cardigan to my wardrobe to go with this dress, amongst other things.  But, when I went shopping Target had one that I wanted, but it wasn’t on sale and I wanted it to be.  I actually stole this cardigan from the hanger with another pre-planned outfit.

Khaki colored cardigan: Target. Black flowered dress: Target. Earring and necklace set: (thrifted.) Gold watch: Wal-Mart. Black wedges: Target.

I wanted this dress to be styled differently than the last time I wore it.  To make it more seasonal, I paired it with a light colored short sleeve cardigan and coral jewelry.  I also opted for a pair of casual peep toed wedges to make it a little more summery, as well.  Lastly, I tied the fabric belt in a loose knot in front, rather than a bow behind my back.

I know these changes may seem minute and insignificant, but changing the accessories that you wear with an outfit can really help it feel like a different dress.  In fact, my sister just asked me about that today.  She went for a job interview and they have asked her back for a second interview.  She asked me if I thought it was inappropriate to wear the same suit but with a different colored shirt, shoes, and jewelry.  HECK NO!  Re-mixing staple items in your wardrobe is one of the cornerstones of this blog!

I wasn’t sure about the cardigan with the dress, especially with it being summer and all.  The room where I teach is air conditioned, so I did keep the cardigan on the entire class.

Besides sneaking up on me, class went well.  I am really trying to focus on incorporating more student discussion into my lectures.  However, it is very difficult because sometimes the students lead you in a very different direction than you intended to go.  Also, it is a big challenge to stay silent while waiting for a student to answer a question.  I find that it makes it difficult to budget my time effectively–the first two days I have pushed it to the very last second.  (I did promise the students that we would be there from 9am-11:25am, though!)

What do you think– did I manage to make this dress look different enough from the last time that I wore it?  Please leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

