3 Day “Weekend”

I had a 3 day “weekend,” which is almost unheard of in my world.  It wasn’t exactly the same as everyone else’s weekend, but whatever.  I was off (from both jobs) Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.  And after my crazy week last week it was glorious.  I took advantage of every moment of my time off.  Which is another rarity.  I am not what you would call a mover and a shaker.  In theory I would like to be, but it doesn’t usually happen.

Thursday, I had to get up early and ran some errands.  This included going to the bank, paying my car payment, a trip to Wal-Mart, Target, and the thrift store.  I bought lots of things for me and for the apartment.  After my shopping extravaganza (which I will share my thrift store finds, soon), I came home and cleaned the house.  I know it’s not very exciting but it had to be done.  Rather than spend time doing it with my BF over the weekend, I wanted to get it out-of-the-way while he was at work so that we could spend more time together.  (Plus, he does lots more cleaning than me, so every once in a while I have to go above and beyond.)  After cleaning, I was able to hang the new shower curtain and put out the new bedspread.  When my BF got home, we went to work out and then had a nice relaxing dinner at home.

Friday, I slept in!  Then, I had to stop by campus to drop off some paperwork for the Summer session.  Because I had done so much running around on Thursday I just felt like having a nice relaxing morning.  Besides dropping off the papers at campus, I didn’t really do much.  When my BF got home we went to dinner at O’Charleys.  Afterward, we went to our local Irish-American festival.  Because we were going to dinner and sitting inside in the air conditioning I knew that I needed an outfit that would be suitable.  But, we were also going to be walking around outside afterwards.  This meant two things– first, I had to be careful with my shoes.  I needed something that would look nice, but also be comfortable for walking.  Second, I would need something that was versatile for both cold and hot conditions.

I chose a long-sleeve navy silk button up. This is one of my finds from the thrift store jaunt on Thursday. This shirt worked well because I could roll up the sleeves while I was outside, or put them down while we were inside in the air conditioning. Silk is also a natural fabric that breathes very well. It can keep you cool or warm. I paired it with a pair of dark jeans and accessorized with a brown belt, brown loafers, a gold watch and gold and navy earrings. I was comfortable at dinner and later, outside walking around.

Saturday, we were up kind of early again. My BF and I went to the Taste of Barberton. This was another outside street festival with craft booths and local cuisine. It was a good chance to get outside, see the beautiful area of downtown Barberton, and spend some valuable time with my dad who met us there. It wasn’t a big to-do, and it only took about and hour or so.

Afterward, we went to our local zoo. It’s been about 2 years since we were last there and they had recently gotten a new aquarium exhibit. Plus, I don’t get many weekend days off and the zoo is one of those 9-5 places M-F. It was a very nice and hot day, but it was worth it. Plus, our zoo is pretty cheap. Since we had been there before, it didn’t take us much more than two hours to tour the zoo. We even stayed for a 30 minute animal show.

By the time we had walked around the zoo we were hungry and tired. On the way home, we stopped at The Winking lizard for a late lunch. Then, we went home and took an impromptu nap on the couch. Since we were going to be outside for a large portion of the day, I knew that I wanted to be comfortable. Also, I knew that we were going to be doing a lot of walking. This translated into a simple outfit of a t-shirt, shorts, and tennis shoes. Not to mention sunscreen and sunglasses!

I was comfortable all day long, going from the outside festival to the zoo, and then to lunch.  Also, the bright pink shirt helps me stand out in a sea of people.  (And, it just so happens to match my tennis shoes.)

Lastly, when we awoke from our nap we went to work out and then to the pool.  Sadly, though by the time we made it to the pool it was around 7p.m. and the sun had started to set.  So, we took a chilly dip in the pool and then high tailed it to the hot tub for a relaxing soak before calling it a weekend.

Sunday morning it was back to business as usual, and that meant back to work at the restaurant for this girl.

What do you think?  Do you have trouble coming up with outfits that are suitable for a days worth of varied events?  So you change between each one, or just end up wearing one thing and being uncomfortable for most of the day?

 

2 comments on “3 Day “Weekend”

  1. […] 3 Day “Weekend” (teachinstyle.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] paired them with my blue silk blouse.  The last time I wore this shirt I went with brown and gold accessories, so this time I decided to switch it up and pair it with […]

Leave a Reply

