Debby and Wrinkles

This week we’re having  a cold snap in our neck of the woods due to tropical storm Debby.  I mean, if 75 degrees in the summertime is cold.  Of course when the days preceding are in the 90’s the twenty degree difference is bound to make people turn off their air conditioners and put on pants!

And I was no exception.  Sunday night I ironed out the horizontal crease in my thrifted white trousers so that I could wear them on Monday.  Trouble is, I didn’t quite iron out some of the other wrinkles in the material.  When I put the pants on Monday morning I deluded myself into thinking that with a quick spray of Febreze, the wrinkles would just fall out.  It didn’t work.  And I wore them anyway.

I paired them with my blue silk blouse.  The last time I wore this shirt I went with brown and gold accessories, so this time I decided to switch it up and pair it with cool silver and pearl jewelry.  I had some trouble with my shoes, though.  I tried on about 7 or 8 pairs, comparing them to each other and trying to find the best one.  My BF helped for the first three pairs, but then he conceded.  Ultimately, I settled on my blush patent leather wedges because they had silver toned accents and because they have yet to make their blog debut.

Blue silk button-up: (thrifted.) Pearl earrings: J.C. Penney. Camisole: gift from mother-in-law. Pearl necklace: unknown. Silver zodiac necklace: Target. Pandora bracelet and charms: gift(s). Silver watch: Fossil. White pants: (thrifted.) Wedges: Target.

The outfit was o.k.  It looked better in my head.  I wanted to wear the shirt tucked in for a tailored look, but it didn’t look quite right.  Also, the shoes just felt off.  I did like the idea of the outfit, though.  Also, I am layering my necklaces, again.  This is a look that I am starting to really dig.  Lastly, I tried to echo the red-orange toe nail polish with a similar hued lipstick.

In class we covered chapter 10: delivery.  I’m doing things a bit different from normal.  In the past, I have covered some of the information, the students gave their first speech, then I expanded upon their knowledge with the chapters on wording and delivery.  This way, they didn’t get too apprehensive about delivering their first speech.  But, since this is an 8-week accelerated course, it was a bit if a challenge to fit everything in.  This time around, I have also placed more emphasis on the outline.  I will have collected it and given feedback twice.  The third submission they will receive their final grade.  I think this is good because it allows them to do well on one of their first big assignments.  (Although, I get the feeling that they have a different opinion.)

I tried to give them everything that they needed to prepare for their first speech.  However, I was having some technological difficulties that really put a wrinkle in things!  I had planned to show them two examples of informative speeches so that we could critique them and they could get a good sense of what they are expected to produce.  But, the sound wasn’t cooperating and we only had time to watch the “needs improvement” version of one of the speeches.  I still made use of the 20 minutes before the building administrator got it working, but it wasn’t what I had planned.

What do you think?  Are there times where things don’t turn out the way you plan and you just have to roll with the punches?  Is it something that you are able to do gracefully, or do wrinkles in your day get you all in a tizzy?

P.S. Please go comment on my 100th post so that I can give away this $10 Starbucks gift card.  (I’d really like to reach 10 comments on my 100th post before I reach my 200th post.)

One comment on “Debby and Wrinkles

  1. […] ruining it.  And, I thought I was doing so well with white clothing–I managed to wear these pants and this shirt without […]

Leave a Reply

