Meet the President Shoes

Thursday night was date night for my BF and I.  Even though he had off some extra days in the beginning of the week for the 4th of July holiday, he spent most of his time off chillin’ out maxin’, relaxin’ all cool.  On Thursday we decided to go to dinner at our local Red Lobster.  For whatever reason, this is not a restaurant that we frequent so it kind of feels a little bit special when we do go there.

Also, President Obama was recently in town and staying at a hotel near our apartment.  We weren’t sure what time he was going to be rolling through town, but we wanted to stick close to home so we could see the motorcade.

We finished up dinner around 8 o’clock.  We thought that Obama would be through around 7:30, but we could see from the window of the restaurant that they had not put up the barricades, yet.  After dinner we left the restaurant and meandered outside.  We walked over to a grassy area and hung out, waiting to see the President drive by.  While we were waiting more and more people started to show up. Most people thought that there were fireworks or that something bad had happened when they saw the “do not cross” police tape.  Several people asked us what was going on and when we told them, they asked when?  But, no one really seemed to know.

Luckily, it wasn’t too terribly hot outside.  All-in-all we would end up waiting about two hours to see the President and his entourage drive down the road.  Sadly, it wasn’t as exciting as I thought it would be.  But, we had reached a certain point where we had invested so much time that there was no way that we were going to leave without seeing the spectacle.  And, because we couldn’t.  They closed the street when he got close.

I chose my outfit more for dinner than to see the President, but that doesn’t make for a very interesting title.  My BF talked me into getting these shoes two weeks ago and I have been trying to create an outfit around them.  I had a whole different outfit planned, but I got makeup on my white shirt and it had to be laundered.

White button-up: Old Navy. Gold necklaces: Target. Long gold necklace: J.C. Penney. Brown belt: Wal-Mart. Jeans: Old Navy. Gold shoes: Payless. Gold Watch: Wal-Mart. Gold earrings: Target.

I’m layering my necklaces, again.  But, I’m kind of cheating.  I bought this necklace and earring set at Target a few days ago.  Although it looks like two necklaces, it’s actually only one.  Necklace layering made easy! Not that it’s that hard.

Do you think that the President would have approved of my outfit?

One comment on “Meet the President Shoes

  1. […] outfit was one that I had been toying with a few weeks back when I was trying to incorporate my new sparkly gold heels into an […]

Leave a Reply

