Date Night: Wasabi Water

With the start of the Fall semester right around the corner– Aug. 27th for my college– my Thursday nights with my BF will come to an end.  Our date nights won’t end, hopefully, but our standing Thursday night will.  I will be teaching class on Tuesday and Thursday evenings and another class on Friday mornings.  Therefore, my availability for my second job has now shifted.  Right now I work Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday nights and Sunday morning– with a night off thrown in there somewhere.  But, because I am automatically not available on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s, that most likely means that I will work the other 5 days of the week.

I do have morning availability, but it is not in my best interest to work mornings since the money is not as great.  But, that may be what I have to do in order to get to see my BF.  What we have decided, at least to start, is that we will have a rolling date night depending on which evening that I am off from work.  (Truth be told, I am a little nervous about this system because it doesn’t allow for much pre-planning.)

Anyway.  Back to the matter at hand: clothes!  I know that it has been quite a while since I’ve given you an actual outfit post, and today is your lucky day!  I wasn’t sure what my BF and I were going to do for date night, but I knew that I wanted to wear this new plaid shirt that I just recently purchased at Target.  I purchased it mostly with our October vacation in mind– it will be perfect for the temperatures that they will be having that time of year.  But, that doesn’t mean that I can’t wear it now!

I actually wore this shirt to the zoo with my dad earlier in the week, but it was a rainy gray day and I didn’t manage to get any outfit photo’s.  But, I did get this AMAZE-balls picture of the Sumatran Tiger:

I was able to get a lot of awesome photo’s of the animals that day.  We even got to see the 3-month snow leopard cubs out on display.  It was only their second day venturing out and they only allow them out in the public view for about 30 minutes a day.  Our zoo is holding a contest to name them.

Sorry about the webbing.  They are upgrading the glass at the zoo and I didn’t think to put my camera lens through the glass until after we saw the snow leopard cubs.  We tried to get back in line, but by that time it was too long and the cubs were only allowed out for another 10 minutes, or so.

Does that make up for my lack of outfit posts?  No?!  Well, I don’t know if this outfit can compete with the cuteness of the cubs, but here it is:

Plaid button-up: Target. V-neck t-shirt: Target. Belt: Wal-Mart. Jeans: Target. Earrings: Target. Watch: Fossil. Brown studded pumps: (thrifted.)

I didn’t realize that I am a walking Target ad, but that is what you get sometimes!  I didn’t even purchase any of these items at the same time.  When I wore this outfit to the zoo, I paired it with a purple tank-top, dark jeans, and  purple and white tennis shoes.  But, for date night I wanted to change it up a bit.  Plus, I already had on the pink t-shirt.  I am accustomed to wearing dark jeans, but I thought that the light colors in the plaid would pair well with a light wash denim.  I dressed it up a little more by adding the brown studded heels, but not too much since it’s a casual outfit to begin with.  I just got my hair trimmed for the new school-year so I just washed it and blow-dryed it with a round brush.

My BF and I went to dinner oat our local hibachi restaurant–you know, the ones where you sit in a large group around the cooktop and the Chef puts on a show while he cooks your food.  At ours they have this squeeze bottle full of some type of alcohol that they squeeze into the guests open mouths while they yell Wasabi Water!  Most of the people at our table took part, but my BF was by far the winner.  Usually, the guest will put their hand up to indicate to the Chef to stop, but the Chef actually stopped before my BF put his hand up!  We had a lot of fun and were even too full to get dessert– we had to get a box for our leftovers.

Don’t worry– I will be back to regular outfit posting within the next few weeks.  Until then, you’ll have to put up with my random animal pictures or organization projects.  Oh, Oh, Oh–my blog will be celebrating its 1 year birthday (anniversary?) in a few days and I have some exciting changes planned for Year 2!  (I hope the two’s aren’t terrible.)

-Carla

 

Leave a Reply

