Living Notice

Hey there!  In case you forgot, my name is Carla and I write this little blog about being a young teacher and dressing professionally and age-appropriate.  You may have forgotten what my face looks like since I haven’t posted in a while.  But, don’t fret!  I will be back to my regularly scheduled programming next week!  Ahhhhh!  Can you believe it?  Fall semester is starting already.

This week I have been busy attending meetings during start-up week at my college.  Tuesday it was a department meeting and yesterday it was a division meeting.  As you may recall, I am teaching on the main campus this semester and I am SO excited.  I originally had 3 classes, but lost one due to low enrollment.  I will be teaching on Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 7:3o p.m.-8:40 p.m. and will have office hours beforehand, from 5:00 p.m.-7:15 p.m.  And then I have another class on Friday morning from 9:00 a.m.-11:40 a.m. and will hold office hours afterwards, from noon-1:00 p.m.

Teaching on main campus should be really good– but there are a few things I have to get accustomed to.  First, the reprographics.  On the satellite campuses there is usually a stand alone copy machine where you go and make your own copies.  However, at the main campus you must submit your copy requests to the reprographics office 3 business days before you need them.  Wowza!  That is going to take some getting used to.  I am not in the mind frame of operating that far in advance.  I had to submit my copy request for my syllabi on Tuesday and I felt completely lost.  Luckily there were lots of people there to help me.  (Everyone kept asking if I was new.  And I was almost embarrassed to tell them it was my third semester.  But, at least it’s not like I have been teaching on main campus all along.)

The second thing that I need to get used to is not getting lost.  Yesterday, I parked in a different faculty/staff parking lot because I was told that it would be more convenient to where my classroom is.  It worked out great, except that once I got inside the building and went here, there, and everywhere I couldn’t quite remember where I had come in at.

There I was, standing in the hallway looking at my campus map and trying to find the parking lot with my car.  Doh.  The one good thing is that I am getting this sort of new-girl behavior out of the way this week while there are no students around.  That way, I can walk in next week looking like a pro!

Other than finishing up my syllabi, attending meetings during start-up week, and working on my first few lectures I have just been trying to enjoy the last few days before school starts.  I both love and hate having a routine at the same time.  So, just in case you forgot, here is what my face looks like:

-Carla

Leave a Reply

