#4 for Day One

Hey there!  Welcome to the beginning of Fall semester 2012.  Oh, wait– you’re not one of my students.  Sorry, I’ve been in “first week mode.”  Let’s get right down to it, the winner of the poll was Outfit 4.  If you didn’t get a chance to cast your vote, so sorry, but the poll is now closed.  I, personally, thought that Outfit 2 was the best first day outfit, but majority rules.  Side note: My dad voted for Outfit 2.  He said Outfit 4 made me look 10 years older with the sweater.  Thanks, Dad.

So, after that “endorsement” of Outfit 4 I wasn’t entirely thrilled that it was the winner, but I felt that I would somehow be letting down the handful of you that voted if I didn’t follow through and make good on my end of the deal.

Blue cardigan: Target. Ruffled printed tank: Target. Dark khaki skirt: (thrifted.) Blue and gold earrings: Target. Shell bracelet: Jewelry Superstore. Gold watch: Wal-Mart. Nude pumps: Target.

It was a good outfit for the first day of class.  I am glad that I wore the cardigan because even though it was mild and sunny outside, inside my office it was freezing.  I even put on another lightweight jacket that I grabbed on my way out the door.  My classroom was a little warmer, but not by much.

I had a full class (20 students) on my roster, but I only had 16 attend the first day of class.  But, I am really excited.  Oddly, I have twice as many guys as I do women– which is an anomaly.  So far, from what I can tell, I have a good group of students and it is going to be a fun semester.  I am super-duper excited to be teaching on main campus– it is a dramatic change from the satellite centers– it was a hustlin’ and a bustlin’ Tuesday night!

I did also want to share my new school bag with you. I picked it up a while ago for a measly $10! (Actually, that was the price on the tag, but I feel like it was less than that.) Anyway. It is a professional looking faux-crocodile (?) bag. The only concern that I have is that it is smaller than my old bag and may not be able to fit everything else that I cart to school with me (water bottle, lunch, walking shoes, etc.). We will just have to see!

What do you think? For those of you that voted, are you happy with your choice? For those of you that didn’t have the chance to vote, what do you think? Does this outfit say “Young Professional” to you?
-Carla

One comment on “#4 for Day One

  1. […] third item won its way into my cart because it is the same cut and style as this tank top, albeit a different print.  Again, my brain immediately started counting the outfits that I could […]

Leave a Reply

