FRIDAY! FRIDAY!

Ugh.  I know that yesterday was Friday and that makes most people excited, but by the time I got to the last day of the typical workweek I was feeling exhausted!  And I had forgotten about that from Spring semester.  One thing that I struggled with during the Spring semester was picking an outfit for Friday that was polished and professional looking.

By the time Friday rolled around, I just wanted to wear a pair of pajama pants, t-shirt, and tennis shoes.  But, I couldn’t cop out on my students like that– especially since it was my first time meeting all of them.  It’s important to me that I put my best foot forward and get the semester started off on a positive note!

So, I resisted the urge to wear pants and a blouse and went with a more creative outfit.  Plus, we had a 90 degree day, so I knew that I wouldn’t be all that comfortable in pants.

Salmon cardigan: Target. Flowered dress: Target. Coral earrings: (thrifted.) Silver watch: Fossil. Black pumps: Payless.

I bought this dress back in March/April and I’ve worn it a handful of times.  I can’t tell you how excited I am to wear it with some black opaque tights, my new shooties (which you haven’t seen yet), and a mustard colored cardigan, and/or a thin black turtleneck.  Or, maybe tights, tan riding boots, and a jean jacket.  I mean, the possibilities are endless!

My students seem like they are going to be a good bunch.  I must say that I am enjoying the larger class sizes.  I was expecting 20 students, but I had 18 show up.  Sadly, I did have one student submit a drop notice after Friday’s class, but that is to be expected.  I am hoping that the students in the class stay in and pull through. (You will all have to remind me that I said I enjoyed a larger class when I am whining about all the grading that I have to do.)

On a side note, I did switch back to my old school bag on Thursday night. I had sooo much stuff to take with me, and it wouldn’t all fit in my fancy bag. Perhaps one day I will become more streamlined and be able to switch back.

I must say, I am glad that the first week of class is done. Although I was prepared, I wasn’t completely prepared. There are lots of things to get used to with teaching on the main campus. The biggest challenge being that I have to submit copy requests 3 business day in advance of when I need them. And, I can’t count the day that I submit it, so it’s really like 4 days. That is something that my brain is going to have to get used to!

How about you? What types of challenges do you face with the beginning of the semester? Or, a new job/assignment?
-Carla

2 comments on “FRIDAY! FRIDAY!

  1. […] to be wearing the same item over and over again.  That’s the story behind this dress.  The last time that I wore it I brainstormed two or three additional ways to wear it for the upcoming Fall/Winter season.  And […]

  2. […] to be wearing the same item over and over again.  That’s the story behind this dress.  The last time that I wore it I brainstormed two or three additional ways to wear it for the upcoming Fall/Winter season.  And […]

Leave a Reply

