Mid-Week Exhaustion

Thursday was exhausting! I assigned my students a quiz on this online lab and every one of them was having one problem or another. (Multiplied by two, since both of my classes had to complete an assignment on there!) It started out with students showing up on my roster for the course, but not showing up in the grade book on this website. I was desperately trying to figure out why some students were and others were not. The students said that they didn’t do anything differently or additional to the directions that I provided.

The online help system of this website was nowhere near helpful. I could not locate the information that I needed. Eventually, I opened a help ticket but the person who was helping me seemed to have no idea what I was talking about. And I couldn’t find a phone number for the life of me to call and talk with an actual person.

So, all day long I was fielding e-mails from students saying that they did everything right and they had no idea why they weren’t there. Some of them found and completed the quiz without any issues, but most of them did not. I got so tired of typing the same directions to the students. Then, I come to find out that a handful of them were looking on their school website for the activity and not on this outside website. Ugghhh. It was so mentally draining. They expect me to be able to diagnose their problem and explain to them why its’ not working, but that is very difficulty to do remotely. I have no idea if they are in the right place, or not, or why they are getting one error or another.

Technology is supposed to make things easier. And it does, when it works. When it doesn’t it just makes things ten times more difficult.  So, I kind of copped out with my outfit.  Not entirely, it’s just that I can’t take credit for coming up with this concept– I browsed my Pinterest boards (again) for inspiration.  And I came across this photo:

Image via Pinterest

And I thought to myself, I could replicate this outfit pretty easily.  I may not have the exact denim jacket that this woman has, or that specific white shirt, or a leopard print pencil skirt.  But!  I do have a denim jacket in my closet (two, actually), a white t-shirt, and a similar colored pencil skirt.  So, I rounded all these items up and here is my take on this simple outfit:

Jean jacket: Wal-Mart. Gold Link necklace: Wal-Mart. Gold Hoop earrings: J.C. Penney. White boatneck t-shirt: Old Navy. Black and Gold pencil skirt: J.C. Penney. Gold Watch: Wal-Mart. Black Pumps: Payless.

That’s the thing about fashion and style.  It’s not always about having a specific item, but it’s about seeing the potential in the items that you do have.  I bet half of you have a white shirt, denim jacket, and fancy skirt hanging up in your closet right now.  Did it ever occur to you to put those items together for a simple but polished look?  I have to say that this outfit reminds me very much of another outfit that I wore with a similar theme: a basic everyday top and a fancy skirt.

Plus, it’s nice to see pieces in a different light.  Just because this skirt look fancy that doesn’t mean that it should only be worn for fancy or evening events.  By being more open and not resigning your clothes to only certain uses it really helps you open up possibilities.

Here are some other ways that I have also worn this skirt: with a black turtleneck and a white button-up.  What do you think?  Are there other possibilities that you see for this skirt?  I love finding new ways to wear clothes in my closet.
-Carla

 

2 comments on “Mid-Week Exhaustion

  1. LWP Elle says:

    Yes, technology in the classroom can be great, but it can be an exercise in frustration too. As much as everyone like to tell us that the younger generation is naturally tech savvy, I’ve found that they often don’t know what to do when technical issues pop up.

  2. Nibor6000 says:

    This looks great. I get so much use out of my fitted denim jacket. Easy way to make something look a bit more polished or to dress things down.

Leave a Reply

