Friday 2: Keeping Polished

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but so far I think that I am doing pretty good at not slacking off on outfits for Friday.  I have been really trying to plan outfits ahead of time to help combat ending up with outfits that don’t make me feel great.  And, even though it’s only week 2, it’s working.  Now let’s just see if I can keep it up!

My Friday class is going well (so far) and that makes me happy.  Spring semester I had a lot of difficulty with my Friday class.  Since it only meets once a week we have to cover a week’s worth of material in a little over 2 hours.  That means 2 or 3 chapters.  Because it is a Friday morning class it is very easy for the students to walk out the doors and forget all about school.  I mean, it’s the kick-off the the weekend!  There’s all sorts of weekend diversions, and then by the time Monday rolls around it’s time to get back to work.  Whether that is a job, or just school.  And we all know how that goes– it takes us a day or two to get in the swing of things and by then it is Wednesday and we’re thinking about the weekend again.  Oh yeah, and that little thing called class.  This sort of thinking happens to me sometimes, too.

Black t-shirt: Old Navy. Bronze hoop earrings: Charlotte Russe. Khaki skirt: (thrifted.) Gold Watch: Wal-Mart. Nude pumps: Target.

Even though it is the end of week 2, I still had a handful of students who were frantically trying to track me down between Thursday evening and Friday afternoon for my signature to allow them to enter my courses.  Some of them understand more than others that they are facing an uphill battle.  One of the things that my college really tries to stress is student success.  If it is going to mean that the student is not going to be successful because they joined the class later in the semester then we are encouraged to say “No.”  However, the students don’t always understand why you won’t just sign their paper.

So, I have adopted a policy.  Before signing their paper to allow them to enter the course, I sit down with them and take 5-10 minutes to give them some background about the course.  I give them a copy of the syllabus and explain to them how much material that they have missed.  Then, I tell them to think about their options and to show up for the next scheduled class.  If they show up with the homework in hand, I know that they are serious.  If they don’t, or they have all sorts of excuses about why they couldn’t get it done, then I don’t sign the paper.  But, the buck doesn’t stop with me.  Even if I sign, my department chair OR dean can still veto the addition.  It’s a good system that really does keep in mind the ability for the student to succeed–even if it does cause some distress for some students who are told “No.”

I was very comfortable in this outfit. It seems very simple and basic, but it is the small details that make it interesting. For example, the d-ring “belts” on the skirt and the fact that I am wearing nude fishnet hosiery. I’m pushing the envelope but not too much. I hate to admit it, but this outfit idea also came from Pinterest. I know it shouldn’t matter, but it makes me feel kind of fraudulent that these idea’s are coming from somewhere/someone else.

What do you think?  How would you have worn this outfit?  Would you have added more bling to dress it up a little, or do you go for the minimalist look?

-Carla

2 comments on “Friday 2: Keeping Polished

  1. gpicone says:

    I think you look great! And I like how you work with your students to help them succeed. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Nibor6000 says:

    I love the details of the skirt. Wish I could see the fishnets!

Leave a Reply

