Study Habits and Apologies

Thursday night my students turned in their outlines.  As per usual, every student had some sort of problem or another.  One student didn’t have his source page because they didn’t get cut and pasted, another student forgot to add a title, so on and so forth.  I always ask them to take out their outlines and the Checklist for Revising and Outline sheet that I provide to them and then give them about 5 minutes to make any corrections that they need to make.  So, for the student who forgot a title he was able to write one in and not lose those valuable points.

I had a super-duper professional outfit planned out because we had important people on campus reviewing us for our accreditation, but I went to get my oil changed and then had to do my 45,000 mile tune-up, and ran out of time to attend the (optional) meeting.  So, instead of wearing the super-duper professional outfit I wore something a little more casual instead.

I love pairing purple and gold together– the combination is so rich and regal!  Usually when I wear gold I tend to pair it with khaki or brown.  But, Thursday I went with gray.  These pants were one of the items that I pulled out of my closet earlier in the week and slated to wear.  I didn’t plan an outfit with these pants, but because they are a basic item I didn’t worry about it too much.  I really like the cut of these pants– they make my legs look super long.  Sadly, I bought them because they were cleareanced out!  But, that doesn’t necessarily mean that they don’t have other pants with the same cut.  I will have to remember to look the next time that I am at Target.

Purple cardigan: gift. Gold earrings: J.C. Penney. Gold cowl neck shirt: J.C. Penney. Gray pants: Target. Gold watch: Wal-Mart. Purple peep toes: Payless.

I was a little unsure about what shoes I wanted to wear with this outfit.  I was torn between gray sling back pointy toes pumps, black pumps, or these purple heels.  Eventually I went with the purple shoes because I thought that they had the most personality.

After we went over the chapter on organizational strategies I gave a short presentation on effective study habits.  A few of my students have come to me and asked how they can do better on their quizzes.  It’s a little bit troubling because I have a handful of students who consistently score 9 or 10 out of 10.  But, I had a few tips for the students as a whole for how I go through the information and decide what is high level importance, medium level importance, and low-level importance.  I also reminded them about all the tools that they have available to help them study.  Hopefully this will help those few students who are not doing as well as they want.  Only time will tell!

I also got an apology from the student who took out his frustration out on me over missing a quiz. Luckily, he didn’t overstep the line too much, but it was nice that he recognized he acted out and to apologize to me. He missed class because of some family issues, so I knew that he was just stressed out.

What do you think? Would you have selected the purple shoes, or a more basic shoe? Do you tend to pair gold with khaki and brown and silver with gray and black, or are you open to other pairings?
-Carla

One comment on “Study Habits and Apologies

  1. Nibor6000 says:

    I need to check out JC Penney!

Leave a Reply

